Doomsday Prepper, What?!

So I got an email over the weekend from an old friend. Said old friend came for a little visit onto The New Pioneers blog and was alarmed. “Alarmed by what?” I wondered. Quickly I scanned my brain for “alarming” things that I might have posted. The recipes weren’t alarming, unless you consider eggplant verboten. My dad’s posts weren’t alarming. I racked my brain until I realized that it must be either the compost (goat poop is a bit of a gulp for some) or the fact that I now go to garage sales. I suppose these things might engender alarm in some easily startled people. Of course I thought my friend was made of tougher stuff but you never know. Then I read further.

“I’m concerned by your blog that you have become a Doomsday Prepper,” It said.

I caught about 20 minutes of one of those shows and was a nervous wreck afterward. I am not executing para-military maneuvers with my family. I don’t have enough food stored for 20 people for 20 years. Dear God, I don’t have a bug out plan that includes an old school bus and buried food in the desert. What in the world was she talking about?

It seems to me that when many food prices have doubled in the last 5 years, gas prices are on the rise, housing foreclosures are at an all time high and billionaires are trying to quietly dump all their stock in American banks, oh, I don’t know, call me an extremist if you want, but there might just be some tough times ahead.

Having just spent the majority of my adult life in Southern California, I know how to prepare for emergencies. The thing is that I’m not exactly sure what I’m preparing for here. Hey, our economy may swing around and start going gangbusters tomorrow. The day might come where I start spending $200 on a pair of shoes. Monkeys might learn to fly and DEVO might just make all my wishes come true and cut a new album. But until that time, my instincts are telling me to pay attention and learn useful things like growing my own food and other sustainable tidbits.

To my friend I say, look I can see how my new life looks nothing like my old one. This just means that I’m paying attention. If the nothing worse happens than is currently happening in our world, no one will be happier than me. The only downside I see is that I have canned more jam than I know what to do with and I’ll be able to share the wealth. If it get’s as bad as some analysts are suggesting then you come out and live on the farm with us. You can milk the cow and churn the butter and I’ll bake the cookies and we’ll all be happy.

3 thoughts on “Doomsday Prepper, What?!

  1. I’m not a doomsdayer (is that the right word?), but I am beginning to become a little concerned with the level of “crap” that is put in the foods we buy today. I want to know what goes in my food from start to finish. I’m not opposed to some bug spray or weed killer at all, but the amounts that are used in commercial production are just crazy. I’m also concerned about the amount of preservatives and flavor enhancers added to foods today. Processed foods just don’t taste the same today as they did when we were kids. (Case in point: Little Debbie Cake Brownies – I used to love them because they were yummy and you couldn’t replicate the taste at home – although homemade brownies are a little slice of heaven all their own, they are not the same as Little Debbie’s – but today, Little Debbie Brownies are horrid. I don’t think my palate has become more sophisticated, I think the recipe as changed to make them cheaper to produce and have a longer shelf life.) I do have composting questions for you, so I’m looking forward to chatting with you about that.

    PS No interest whatsoever in living off the grid. The closest I can handle to being off the grid is staying at my in-laws, where they have not internet service and sketchy cell phone coverage:)

    • Ihear ya on the food! The things I used to love are very weird tasting now an there has been so much genetical modification going on in our fruits and veggies that I don’t remember what real food tastes like. That is until we went rural. LOVING the food!!

Leave a Reply

