The Mayor of Whitopia

After much pondering, I’ve finally named the permaculture community that we are building. You got it, Whitopia! I’m guessing that my fellow citizens will love it. What do you think?

You might expect that I’d want to be the mayor of Whitopia, but you’d be wrong. I don’t have the golden touch of diplomacy. Of course that means my husband, Jimmy, is out too. Jimmy does not have opinions, he has “factual opinions” … as in he’s always right.

Who then will be our mayor. Moses (my mom) won’t work. She beleives more in a monarchy with her being queen . Poppy (my dad) has no interest in the post. To quote The Who (because I can) Who are you, who, who, who, who?

I have finally stumbled on the answer to this question. Our dear friend, David, who visited last week from New York is my choice. Jimmy and Dave were friends, roommates and cohorts back in NYC in the mid-eighties. Jimmy’s force-of-nature personality was tempered by Dave’s unshakable calm. Their friendship was always the perfect blend. Jimmy would stir the pot and Dave would make sure the  contents didn’t boil over. I couldn’t think of better attributes for our mayor.

Our house shook with laughter this week. Another thing Whitopia will be known for. Don’t apply for citizenship if you don’t have a sense of humor and can’t laugh at yourself.

Remember, Whitopia strives for balance. We already have a doctor, a lawyer, a hypnotist, gardening experts, a cook and a queen and a general. We are looking for a chiropractor, a vet, a butcher (for the non vegetarians), a  contractor and a stall mucker. Of course there are many other posts that need filling as well. Please let us know where you fit in so we can vote on you and officially invite you to join our peaceful new world in Whitopia.

2 thoughts on “The Mayor of Whitopia

Leave a Reply

