Too Snooty to Booby?

We have not one, but two friends who have suggested that breastfeeding is a class issue. Seriously, I’ll give you a moment to check your calendar and make sure that we’re still in the new millennium. I was totally and utterly shocked both times this subject came up. My first question (to which I already knew the answer) was “So were you breastfed?” The answer came back an emphatic “NO!” in both circumstances. Of course the topic came up both times while I had a boob in a baby’s mouth. Smack, right? While a bit offended, I was really more amused than anything. I mean who suggests to your face that you are clearly not of the upper crust because you choose to breastfeed your child?

I felt momentarily compelled to blurt out the list of my parents various advanced degrees in order to defend my lineage but that wouldn’t have made my genealogy anymore illustrious. My parents are both self-made people, coming from good old-fashioned working stock. My mom grew up in row houses owned by the glass factory that my grandfather worked at and my dad grew up on a homestead in South Dakota with an insurance salesman as a father.

My second question to our fancy friends was, “So what you’re saying is that the upper class is not concerned for their children’s immune systems and brain developement?” Before getting an answer, I added, “That’s really too bad. You’d think with all that privilege they could have figured that out.” Take that you rude booger!

It occurs to me that with  the changes facing our world, I’m rather glad to come from peasant stock. I’m glad that I’m not too fancy to dig my hands into the ground and work like a mule in order to take care of my family. I’m glad that I have the knowledge to teach my girls and prepare them for a life that may not be one of ease.  Of course I’m still going to enjoy the fruits of others labors while I can. I like extravagance as much as the next guy. The only difference is that if the shit hits the fan my family won’t have to wonder where their next beluga is coming from. And because I love my friends despite their short comings, I’m going to make sure that I put up enough food on our homestead that they will always be welcome. Of course I’ll get my revenge by working them like slaves but that’s just the karmic wheel my friends. You give me crap, I just may make you shovel it.

Now, for a nice peasanty recipe from my German side.

Staumped Grüne Bohnen

  • 4 lbs. Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 garlic
  • bacon
  • steamed green beans
  • butter
  • salt and pepper
  1. Boil potatoes with bay leaves and garlic until tender.
  2. Fry bacon, reserving rendered fat.
  3. Steam beans.
  4. Mash potatoes and garlic with some bacon fat, butter and green beans. Salt and pepper according to taste.
  5. Stir in crumbled bacon.

I leave the proportions up to your tastes. This is a dish that will put a smile on even the biggest snob’s face.

2 thoughts on “Too Snooty to Booby?

  1. I have found when people use excuses for why they won’t or didn’t breast feed, they are just that, excuses to make themselves feel better for not giving their babies the best start possible. When I breast fed my three boys breast feeding was just making a resurgence, they are grown now with my middle son having a baby boy of his own soon, our first grand baby. Breast feeding my children, though unpopular at the time was the best thing I did for them and the thing I miss the most. I feel sorry for those who convince them selves not to do what is natural, they have kept themselves from what is in my opinion the most primal conection you can have with your child next to carrying them for nine months. Good for you and more importantly good for your babies!

    Micki

  2. Thanks for following my blog. I’m SO glad you did because now I’ve ‘discovered’ you!
    I breastfed all 7 of my children and aligned myself with like-minded Mothers – we supported each other. My kids are all grown up now – my grandchildren were breastfed babies as well. I’ve always felt that breastfeeding is actually a way of life……… a lifestyle that led to much enlightenment in my life along the way.
    I look forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

